Infinity Ward Blackmailed over Modern Warfare 4
No, that's not a typo. Modern Warfare 4.
Posted 28 Jul 2009

Modern Warfare 2. So this year.
Modern Warfare 4 might be a way off, but gamers are a forward thinking lot. If you type modernwarfare4.com into your browser address bar (or just click here), what you'll find is a nifty blackmail set-up.
In a nutshell, ZiiP Gaming Community has the domain and is offering it to Infinity Ward in exchange for copies of Modern Warfare 4, a game likely to be around four years away, for each and every one of their members. There are currently 62 members (keep an eye on that). We assume they don't expect to get MW4 in the near future...
The message looks like this:
"If you are reading this, you may well be the web administrator for Infinity Ward.
"If you are, there is a chance that you may well require this domain. Don't worry, you can have it - in exchange for a little 'good will gesture' for the little gaming community that owns this domain and has been playing your games for years.
"What we'd like is a copy of the game that this domain would be used for, - one copy for each and every member of our gaming community.
"If you wish to discuss this further, drop me an email - welovecod@ziip.co.uk or goto www.ziip.co.uk and leave a message to Jester.
"Many Regards :)
"James"
We've contacted both Infinity Ward and 'James' in order to discover whether anything has or will come of this, at the moment cheeky, attempt to extract free games that don't exist yet.
But what of Modern Warfare 3? This one is also not owned by Infinity Ward or Activision. It's owned by a Floridian called Anthony Abraham (who also owns a Zune download site called ZReactor); and it seems to have no even slightly extortionate notes on it.
By the way, Modernwarfare2.com redirects to http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com.
In a nutshell, ZiiP Gaming Community has the domain and is offering it to Infinity Ward in exchange for copies of Modern Warfare 4, a game likely to be around four years away, for each and every one of their members. There are currently 62 members (keep an eye on that). We assume they don't expect to get MW4 in the near future...
The message looks like this:
"If you are reading this, you may well be the web administrator for Infinity Ward.
"If you are, there is a chance that you may well require this domain. Don't worry, you can have it - in exchange for a little 'good will gesture' for the little gaming community that owns this domain and has been playing your games for years.
"What we'd like is a copy of the game that this domain would be used for, - one copy for each and every member of our gaming community.
"If you wish to discuss this further, drop me an email - welovecod@ziip.co.uk or goto www.ziip.co.uk and leave a message to Jester.
"Many Regards :)
"James"
We've contacted both Infinity Ward and 'James' in order to discover whether anything has or will come of this, at the moment cheeky, attempt to extract free games that don't exist yet.
But what of Modern Warfare 3? This one is also not owned by Infinity Ward or Activision. It's owned by a Floridian called Anthony Abraham (who also owns a Zune download site called ZReactor); and it seems to have no even slightly extortionate notes on it.
By the way, Modernwarfare2.com redirects to http://modernwarfare2.infinityward.com.
Comments
Apparently these morons haven't heard about the interaction of trademark law and domain names.
@anonymous I guarantee they dont give a s**t about this. thyell just change it to mw4.com douchebags
more comments below our sponsor's message
so who informed them that the game will be named modern warfare 4?
There is no way infinity will pay them anything. Be it games or anything else....
There are many ways for Infinity to post a web site. They don't need the one these guy's have. These guy's are shooting blanks......
they'll get nowt, just like www.ps2.com never got anything from sony
One of the many possibilities Infinity ward have is replace the '4' for 'four' in the URL. hmm.... I might have to register it myself, but I'd want straight up cash!
They host the MW2 site on their own infinity ward website. Blackmail fail.
Silly stuff...
haha lol ill try www.fifa210.com now!!
Maybe i get fifa 10 for free..!!
Maybe i get fifa 10 for free..!!
Too bad the game is called Modern Warfare 2. Well better luck next time, dumb asses.
@Edgar It isnt aimed at MW2 dumb ass ;)
LMAO@ ALL of this!! I feel its a VERY tongue in cheek joke!! SOH, anyone?
Long Live ZiiP Oiley
Ps its a joke :)
Ps its a joke :)
Well I say there out for noticability judging by the reactions and publicity they are getting. All I can say is why not and good luck, infinity ward just increased price for the game right? Well maybe this is a little payback from us gamers :)
simple dodge-change the name... i doubt they will make another one after two, they cant really get more modern without going all halo on the players.
LOL
holy s**t they captured a clown
this is serious business D:<
this is serious business D:<
wow im a homo and like the buttsex with 12 inch black cocks ripping my butthole into pieces and having them cum all over my face and make me drink it up.
Latest Features
| Opinion// Sonic and the Retro Revival |
| Review// Dante's Inferno |
| First Look// Monster Hunter Tri |
| Interview// Biking legend Steve Parrish |







